5 Tips For Making Your Master Bedroom a Relaxing, Romantic Retreat

I used to spend quite a bit of time reading decor magazines, looking at design blogs, and trying to develop an eye for interior design. I took a glance around my home yesterday, and had an epiphany: my house is a perfect reflection of all that collected knowledge. I think it would be selfish to hold onto these tried and true decorating secrets without sharing them, so I’ve decided to give out a few tips that correspond with candid photographs of my home. This will be the first in a series of occasional home design posts, so I hope you will stay tuned for more wonderful advice. A word before I begin: the tips I am sharing are not my own original ideas, but I have gleaned them from other sources and have been inspired by others, lest anyone accuse me of plagiarism. Because of the breadth of my research, it would be impossible to fit every room into one post, so today I will only address the master bedroom.

Here is our dreamy space:

office

So let’s jump right in! Here are the 5 helpful tips for creating a romantic retreat in your master bedroom:

1. Layer a variety of textures to create depth and interest in your space, especially in bedding. Needless to say our bed is a prime example of this technique. I’ve masterfully exposed the beautifully patterned bare box spring, which is juxtaposed with our monochromatic linens. Nailed it.

2. I’ve heard it said many times that every room should have at least a pop of red. I’ve accomplished this here with the lovely half-unpacked, half-unzipped suitcase from a trip that was about a month ago. So I’ll admit that I’ve only been applying this knowledge recently. **And that brings me to a sub-point: be patient with yourself. It can take some time to achieve the look you’re desiring, but if you stick with it, success is attainable.**

3. Make sure to marry form and function, especially in small spaces. In this example, our canopy bed doubles as a clothes line for hang drying our clothes, and can also be used as a laundry folding “table” in a pinch. Maximize, maximize!

4. Don’t underestimate the importance of lighting for mood and warmth. In our rental, we’ve been blessed to inherit those environmentally friendly, almost-fluorescent light bulbs which, as you can see, illuminate the space quite dramatically. Enough said.

5. Embrace the eclectic, “collected” look. Not everything in a space has to match, so get creative! I know it’s hard to even notice in this picture, but if you’ll look closely, you’ll see that not everything in our space was bought as a matching set! I’ll just point out a few things that demonstrate the art of piecing together a room…the empty amazon shipping box against the wall, the plastic rubbermaid drawers used as a nightstand, and the laundry basket at the foot of the bed instead of the traditional bench or hope chest. These are just some ideas to get you started, but as long as you stay within a cohesive aesthetic (like the one pictured above, of course) there is no end to the possibilities. Think outside the box.

I hope you can draw some inspiration from my humble home as I have done from others, and benefit from these helpful tips toward creating a relaxing space. It will take some time and effort, as this picture clearly shows, but the result is always worth it.

Stay tuned for the next post in this series: “5 Steps to Creating a Beautiful, Functional, Multi-Purpose Space”. I will be using our combination office/play area as a prime example of a room that exudes subtlety and functionality. Please feel free to add to my list of pointers in the comments with any helpful hints you’ve applied in your own home!

**After completing this post, I’m contemplating a new look for our bedroom. I know you shouldn’t mess with perfect, but I just feel our room might need a little….something.

5 thoughts on “5 Tips For Making Your Master Bedroom a Relaxing, Romantic Retreat

  1. You are a master at putting those tips to work. Thanks for not keeping them to yourself. I am trying not to crack up while my wife is sleeping. When I can’t sleep I always read about home decor tips.

    Like

  2. Ha, sure! But not about home decor. Here’s one–when you really need sleep and there’s the chance that a dog will go nuts at midnight, take NyQuil instead of Melatonin before bed. My wife had no clue I was giggling away on the floor in a corner, so at least one of us got sleep.

    Like

Leave a Reply

